Thought as self-intuiting action

Where there is judgment there I am. Referring demonstratively to an object is to refer to it by perceiving it. To perceive an object is to know it as other, even if per accidens I happen to perceive my own body this way. The objects to which I refer demonstratively are given to me in sensory intuition, or more colloquially, through the senses. Because I do not see sight through the sense of vision, nor hear my own hearing faculty, I know sensory knowledge to be of the receptive kind whose objects are other than the faculties through which they are presented to me.  But why do I identify myself with the unchangeable forms of sensory intuition rather than the transient and changing content so intuited? Although Hume may be right about there not being any sensation of a self above and beyond (behind and beneath) the constant flux of sensations the very unity of these sensations, the negativity that allows each to pass through the other in sequences of simultaneity is precisely the unity of the self. In reasoning what to do, I know that I am the person doing it. In reasoning what to believe I know I am the one who believes. This is because Reason, freedom and self-consciousness are all the same thing; they are the locus of judgment which is the locus of knowledge and reality. In relating to its body receptively, the spontaneously self-intuiting Self is able to negate each moment in its material existence whilst maintaining its self-identity in difference and thereby unifying its form across time in an action, and that action is thought.

Leave a Reply

